Basic Guide on How to Become a Published Author

Original posted by aspiringwriter22
Date posted: 3 May 2013
aspiringwriter22.wordpress.com

 

Basic Guide on How to Become a Published Author

The first step in pursuing publication is to write as much as possible with the intention of improving my writing. Writing consistently develops my own, personal voice and ensures that I do not mimic or replicate another writer’s style. Once my writing has matured enough, I can begin to focus on revising and editing. Or as I like to call it…turning-first-drafts-into-excellent-final-drafts.

“Writing is revising.” Whoever said that line must be a genius. The saying is only three words but holds plenty of truth. Revising and editing with glee is an ability all writers should acquire for several reasons. All writers must revise their work despite how the difficult the process may be. For instance, the first manuscript I wrote entitled “Breaking Ground” is still undergoing several revisions regarding sentence structure, syntax, etc.

After creating and polishing a creative project, I can submit my best work for the world to read. Honestly speaking not everything I write is great or is worthy of publication. Achieving such glory and acclaim is not exactly easy either. Passing the inspection of various editors, qualified judges, and keen agents requires writing that has merit.

I am the least patient person ever. That is an understatement of the century. I knew however, to be successful as a writer I had to practice the art of being patient. Unfortunately, success does not happen overnight. No one handed me success on a silver platter. I had to work for it. T

Writers experience rejection all the time. Some of the best writers like Stephen King has taken criticism and learned from rejection.

Being published requires much more than relying on pure luck alone. A few years ago I never would have thought I would publish anything much less publish something at a young age. But if I could tell my younger self five things, they would be; write every single day, revise without complaining, submit awesome work, try to be more patient, and grow from mistakes by using rejection as a tool to motivate myself. Becoming a published writer is not easy but following these five steps pushed me closer to that goal every day.

Original article via http://aspiringwriter22.wordpress.com/2013/05/03/how-to-become-a-published-writer-in-5-easy-steps/

 

 

 

Self Publishing Books and Authors is a resource for book publishing tips, articles, or reviews and other stuff about authors and books. We also publish news about independent or self publishers. Feel free to send me the link or the content if you wish to contribute to the blog. Want to publish your book? Send us your queries to selfpubbooks@gmail.com

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Author Publishing Tips, How to Write, Self Publishing Authors, Tips and Tricks, Writing, Writing Tips
One comment on “Basic Guide on How to Become a Published Author
  1. […] Basic Guide on How to Become a Published Author (selfpubbooks.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 36 other followers

May 2013
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
Archives
Blog Stats
  • 7,757 Clicks
AuthorHouse Book Publishing

A Self Publishing Company

Reads and Thoughts

Shut up. Im reading

The Eighth City

The team, the community, the story behind the book.

